Your Choice 2020 General Election Coverage

Your Choice 2020 General Election Coverage

MERIDIAN TOWNSHIP - HOMTV continues its tradition of excellence with award-winning election programming. Your Choice 2020 is a series of programs designed to help educate the public on candidates running for office and ballot proposals. General Election Day is November 3rd and 12 local contested races will be covered as well as four ballot proposals (one Ingham County and threee Meridian Township).

Election programs include candidate interviews, ballot proposal features and live election night coverage. Due to COVID-19 and construction occurring in HOMTV’s Studio and Control Room, this year’s election coverage is being conducted virtually utilizing the Zoom Video Communications Platform.

Candidate interviews and ballot proposal programs will air the entire month of October. Live General Election Night Coverage will begin at 8:00 pm on Tuesday, November 3rd.

Comcast Cable subscribers in East Lansing, Haslett and Okemos can view the programs by turning to Channel 21 and Channel 30. AT&T U-verse subscribers can view the programs on Channel 99. These programs will also be available on demand on HOMTV’s website.

Candidates in local contested races were invited to participate in a HOMTV Candidate Interview. Candidates unopposed on the November 3, 2020 General Election ballot are not listed below.

Representative in Congress – 8th District (elect 1)
(R) Paul Junge
(D) Elissa Slotkin - Incumbent
(LIB) Joe Hartman

State Representative – 69th District (elect 1)
(R) Grace S. Norris
(D) Julie Brixie - Incumbent
(GRN) Gene Gutierrez

Prosecuting Attorney (elect 1)
(R) George Platsis
(D) Carol A. Siemon - Incumbent

Ingham County Sherriff (elect 1)
(R) Daniel J. Wells
(D) Scott A. Wriggelsworth - Incumbent

Ingham County Clerk (elect 1)
(R) Joseph W. Werner
(D) Barb Byrum - Incumbent

Ingham County Treasurer (elect 1)
(R) Bruce A. Little
(D) Eric A. Schertzing - Incumbent

Ingham County Register of Deeds (elect 1)
(R) Carol J. VanDrie
(D) Derrick Quinney - Incumbent

Ingham County Drain Commissioner (elect 1)
(R) Brian B. Beauchine
(D) Patrick Lindemann – Incumbent

Ingham County Commissioner – 11th District (elect 1)
(R) Paul Adams Lello
(D) Emily Stivers - Incumbent

Ingham County Commissioner – 12th District (elect 1)
(R) Sam Frangie
(D) Mark Polsdofer - Incumbent

Haslett Public Schools (elect 2)
(NP) Greg Bird
(NP) Tracy Collins - Incumbent
(NP) Camara Lewis

Okemos Public Schools (elect 4)
(NP) Katie Cavanaugh - Incumbent
(NP) Joe Freidhoff
(NP) Thomas Gorman
(NP) Melanie C. Lynn - Incumbent
(NP) Andy Phelps
(NP) Jayme Taylor

Additional Resources

Watch Your Choice 2020 General Election Programs on HOMTV


For a full list of candidates and proposals on the November 3, 2020 General Election ballot, visit the Ingham County Clerk's Office website. 

Candidate List

Proposal List


25 Year Plan to Improve Transportation in Greater Lansing


LANSING, MICHIGAN - Moving Mid-Michigan, a new plan to prioritize impr... [More]


Pro-Trump Supporters Storm Capitol Hill


WASHINGTON D.C - Legislative leaders were confirming the electoral ... [More]


Crowd Chant 'Lock Her Up' at Trump Rally in Lansing


LANSING - President Donald J. Trump visited Lansing Tuesday ... [More]

Meridian Weather